PDA

View Full Version : SALT is just SALT

Airborne
08/12/2010, 12:57 PM
I started my tank with Scripps NSW ran this for about 3 months. My LFS was going out of business so I changed to another LFS that was mixing Brightwell Neo-Marine which I ran for about 3 months. I did not have any feeling either way about the salt. The they switched so I switched to I.O. which I have been running for 3 months.

There were absoultely no....0 differences in what the corals looked like or acted like given the changes. I am now thinking of getting away from I.O. and either going to D-D H2Ocean or Tropic Marin Pro Reef.

I called a new LFS and I asked i fthey had D-D. They said no. They also said that they have been in the industry for 23+ yrs and they have come to the conclusion that SALT is SALT. The only difference is price. Bottom line.

I think after all the switches that I have made and the continued SPS sucess, they must be right.

D-D is hard to come by but is cheaper than TMPR. I jsut want to get away from the bottom of the line SALT Mix. Mental hang up.

So even though TMPR is more money is is also more available.

poolkeeper1
08/12/2010, 01:23 PM
Your Correct to a certain point, Most Salt is made by one Mfg and the only difference is the trace elements added to the salt. That's why they have different Ca, KH, MG etc levels mixed at the same salinity. For fish only tanks Salt brands matter little, But If you have a full blown reef with lots of SPS you will want a Salt higher In Ca, KH, Mg and so on. JMHO
Bill
PS, Thanks for your Service...

TheH
08/12/2010, 01:31 PM
Salt is salt except for, well, bad batches. It's only intuitive to feel that more expensive salt undergoes a better QA before reaching you.

Airborne
08/12/2010, 01:37 PM
Bill: