PDA

View Full Version : How many LED's are needed?

djfrankn
08/15/2010, 09:29 PM
Hi to everyone. I am new to the reef centraland this is my second post, by the way. I have a 55 gallon tank (48" L, 12" W, 24" H). and I've been thinking of going on the DIY route for my tank lighting. I currently have a Current USA Sunpaq 48" dual 10,000k/blue actinic. I have to replace the light bulbs but I was thinking to build a LED system for my fish tank. I've been reading about DIY guides all over the web but I haven't found anyone who can tell me how to calculate how many I need.

I have some polyps, a duncan coral and some fish. Thanks for any response.

fastpcuser
08/15/2010, 11:01 PM
Don't know but here is bump for ya ....

will follow interested in LED's

Ben34105
08/15/2010, 11:09 PM
I'd be interested in knowing how to figure it out also. It's coming up on relamp time for me and I've been kicking around the idea of going to LEDs. I have a 150g tall (30" deep) so I'd need some heavy duty LEDs to reach to the bottom of the tank.

ludnix
08/16/2010, 12:17 AM
Probably could get away with 48 XR-E leds.

TheFishMan65
08/16/2010, 06:37 AM
48 would be good or maybe 36 if you don't have light loving corals.

der_wille_zur_macht
08/16/2010, 07:11 AM
I'd be interested in knowing how to figure it out also.

Wouldn't we all? :D As with any form of tank lighting, there are many variables, and many similar-looking solutions that aren't really similar. How often do you hear people make sweeping statements about how a 250w MH can cover X amount of tank area for X type of corals. Meanwhile, the output from different lamp/ballast/reflector combinations can vary by hundreds of percent! Not picking on MH, just making a point that rules of thumb provide general guides, at best, for well-established forms of lighting. Something new like LEDs is going to be even more rough when trying to come up with these formulas.