PDA

View Full Version : lighting for hopeful reef tank

luxauterna
08/22/2010, 07:17 PM
Hey everyone, I am relatively new to marine tanks. I have quite a bit of experience with freshwater, but as we all know, marine tanks take some special attention, including proper lighting, especially when setting up a reef tank. So, my tank is 45 - 50 gal, cubish, and I am trying to find the most economical but still efficient lighting for the tank. I have been searching online for a month and was hoping to get some feedback from everyone on lights that have worked well for you. Ive been looking at coralife aqualights, nova lights, all t5 and most likely HO, if I can find a decent price. Anyone use the nova extreme t5 HO dual lighting?

Thx! by the way the dimensions are 24 wide x 24 tall x 18 deep

bunzaroo
08/22/2010, 09:45 PM
What kind of corals are you planning to keep??? What kind of budget are you looking at?

mike_cmu04
08/22/2010, 10:45 PM
T5's are nice you could also use a single 250w metal halide

coraladict
08/22/2010, 11:32 PM
i had a 150 metal halide for my tank a few weeks ago and switched to T5's and i love it because theres soooo much more color variety as opposed to 10k 14k and 20k.

i saw get t5s

xiaoyu04
08/23/2010, 12:12 AM
Hey everyone, I am relatively new to marine tanks. I have quite a bit of experience with freshwater, but as we all know, marine tanks take some special attention, including proper lighting, especially when setting up a reef tank. So, my tank is 45 - 50 gal, cubish, and I am trying to find the most economical but still efficient lighting for the tank. I have been searching online for a month and was hoping to get some feedback from everyone on lights that have worked well for you. Ive been looking at coralife aqualights, nova lights, all t5 and most likely HO, if I can find a decent price. Anyone use the nova extreme t5 HO dual lighting?

Thx! by the way the dimensions are 24 wide x 24 tall x 18 deep