PDA

View Full Version : DIY Stand Advice

Deester
09/06/2010, 06:26 PM
Hello,

I am new to DIY and will be trying my hand at building my own tank stand using the below design (courtesy of RocketScientist) from this thread -

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1567110

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c225/upski30/Dee%204ft%20Reef/148629DIY_Stand_Template.jpg

My intended stand will be 48w x 36d x 40h. I will be using 2x6s for the top frame and will use 2x4s for the rest of the frame, as per the instructions listed in the thread above.

Having read most of the thread I understand the principles involved, but being new to DIY I have a couple of structual questions before commencing -

Q #1 - Due to the additional depth (front to back) of the stand, do I need to add any further support legs along the 36inch depth section (yellow and blue in the diagram) ?

Q #2 - Should I use a piece of plywood to sit the tank on attached to the top frame as the tank will be all glass, I will also be using styro foam too ?

I will be skinning the stand to add the additional strength once finished and will also be using ply as a floor for sump and equipment above the bottom frame.

Any advice greatly appreciated. Being new to DIY I would prefer to be safe than sorry.

Many thanks,

Dee :beer:

Edit - Forgot to mention the tank will be a 48w x 36d x 18h - 130g :)

on the spot
09/06/2010, 06:49 PM
#1 - no. The 4 corners will be sufficient.

#2 - it's difficult to answer that without more information about your tank. Here in the states some tanks need full support, some not.

The tank size sounds great though. What do you plan to keep?

Deester
09/06/2010, 07:08 PM
#1 - no. The 4 corners will be sufficient.

#2 - it's difficult to answer that without more information about your tank. Here in the states some tanks need full support, some not.

Hello On The Spot :wave:

Thank you for your reply,