PDA

View Full Version : Quad/ATV motor help

logan 12
09/07/2010, 05:26 PM
I have a Kawasaki KFX 400 that is in need of some fixing. The problem has not fully been diagnosed and to do this I am going to have to tear into the engine of the quad. I have no experience with motors but try to do most of the work on my quad myself. This problem though is above my capabilities. I do not have the funds to take the quad to the local dealership and have it fixed. There for I am looking for some one who can assist me on the motor or work on the quad themselves. I need someone who knows what the heck they are doing.

Thanks Logan

jtrasap
09/07/2010, 06:09 PM
There really isn't a whole lot to them. I've torn down an rebuilt quite a few. What exactly is the problem with it?

logan 12
09/07/2010, 06:40 PM
The main problem is that I put too much oil in the quad. It was then taken into the river, I got a little wild and thought that I may have gotten some water in the oil. So I ended up parking the quad and changing the oil the next day (putting the correct amount in). The oil didn't appear to contain any water. So I decided to take it for a spin. It took awhile to start the quad, then after riding for about 3 minutes the quad became very hot and shut down. It continues to do this. The fan does run as normal but will not run when the motor gets hot. There is coolant in the quad. From what I read and have been told the engine seals are most likely all bad. For the over heating not sure what is causing that, don’t know if bad seals can do this, if not then something else in the engine has been damaged.

jtrasap
09/07/2010, 07:01 PM