PDA

View Full Version : Please help! film on water

Automatt
09/14/2010, 09:27 PM
Hey hows it going. Im new to RC this would be my first post. Im new to reefing and have only been into it about 6 months or so. I have a 24 gal nanocube with false percula, a green chromis, rose bubble tip, some zoas, candycane, and hammer coral, and a small monti. The lighting is a 24 inch 96 watt t5 fixture. abbout 26 lbs or live rock.

So heres my question. recently i have been having an issue with a nasty brown layer or sludge on the top of the water in my tank. i bout a seaclone 100 protein skimmer to see if it helped and its takin some protein out but still have a layer. Some days there only slight and some are really nasty that i have to go in a basicly skim the surface myself.

Does anyone have an opinions of what it could be? My water parameters are all good. with no nirtates reading on my test that i can see. all my fish and corals seem to be doing good. and anemone is nice and bubbly. I also am going threw a diatom bloom which today seemed not be too bad compared to say last week.

Thanks for reading and hopefully you guys can help and have some opinions to share.

firemedic04
09/14/2010, 09:46 PM
Play with the depth of the skimmer. but make sure the level is always the same. the smallest change in water level will effect performance of the skimmer. I found especially in a nano, it is very sensitive to change in water level. once I got the skimmer going right I found that the algae blooms started to significantly decline.

JamesJR
09/15/2010, 10:52 AM
usually films on the surface are just fats or oils from food. In a heavily stocked aquarium this may cause issues with gas exchange and can block light. Usually with good surface agitation this won't cause any real problems.

jameskb
09/15/2010, 12:40 PM