PDA

View Full Version : I am going to start vodka AND biopellets.

dg3147
09/18/2010, 03:51 PM
I've been running biopellets for several months now and had great success driving PH04 and NO3 down to zero, but I don't get the same amazing colors as I did with vodka dosing.

I now plan to add back into the system a very small dose of vodka: 5ml per day.

Stop me if you think I am crazy.

(I am starting to think that vodka may have something a bit more unique to contribute than just driving NO3/PO4 lower. It may encourage particular strains of symbiotic bacteria the are bright in coloration and different from those feeding off my biopellets).

HighlandReefer
09/18/2010, 03:54 PM
I don't think your crazy. :lol:

Vodka may very well increase the populations of the symbionts in coral tissues and mucous membranes. After all, it does increase the bacterial & perhaps algae populations in the water column.

HighlandReefer
09/18/2010, 03:55 PM
There are symbiotic bacterial populations in the coral as well.

The question I have, is how well does the alcohol penetrate the outer cell membrane of coral. I would think it would readily pass through?

bertoni
09/18/2010, 05:12 PM
I agree that starting with a low dose is fine. The vodka might affect coloration; that's hard to predict. I would watch carefully for signs of trouble.

Moser
09/19/2010, 01:16 AM
What about Biopellets and Zeo or Brightwell additives?.
You already have a carbon source, so maybe that would be more useful?

Mo

dg3147
09/19/2010, 03:35 AM
yeah, tried amino acids and ReefBooster without much luck. Not really sure what the underlying issue is.

HighlandReefer
09/19/2010, 08:06 AM