PDA

View Full Version : profilux standalone or bubble magnus dosing unit

alcove
09/25/2010, 01:01 AM
getting a 3 pump unit for an extra 100$ is the profilux worth it?

Soymilk
09/25/2010, 02:00 AM
I bought the bubble magus. I have no experience with the profilux but the bubble magus doser met my needs and expectations.

It's been pretty good so far. Parts availability could be an issue for the bubble magus. Profilux is tried and true. So it's really up to you. I personally don't think it's worth the extra money.

alcove
09/25/2010, 10:04 AM
anyone else

wickedfish
09/25/2010, 12:02 PM
I am tagging along I have an Apex and I want to use the BM doser as well, dont know if its better to get the doser with the little timer guy already on it and how it works? IS it fully functional out of the box with out software?

sfexplicit
09/25/2010, 03:11 PM
I've heard good things about both of these dosers. Not from personal experience. I'm leaning towards the profilux though due to the fact that you can get replacement parts and even add on later down the road if need be. I do know from personal experience that nothing last forever and when or if something goes wrong I'd feel better knowing I could fix it instead of replacing the whole entire thing. The extra $100 I spend might be $$$ I'd save down the road. That's not to say that people haven't had great success with the BM however.

Soymilk
09/25/2010, 04:10 PM
The bubble magus is repairable as well. I heard the motor is $40 and the tube is $8. I have taken it apart is it seems pretty easy to do so. It's a little cheapy feeling but for the price I paid for, I can't complain.

As for the availability of parts... Hard to say. But since distribution is done in america now, I heard from a lfs that all bm replacement parts is done from a guy in Cali. So in theory, there should be parts.