PDA

View Full Version : A Fish or Creature for a ten gallon?

purplecandle
09/29/2010, 05:10 PM
Hello all!

Ok here is the deal, I am a total marine noob..but I have some Green spotted puffers that I would like to go to full marine with. Currently, they are brackish. I keep them 2 per 55 and I have a total of 6.

My hope is to start acquiring marine equipment (as I find deals and sales LOL)
And then around tax time I will purchase a tank large enough for all of them, and make it marine. I could then make the 55's fresh, thus saving me some $alt :)

My problem lies in not understanding marine equipment fully, I have some help from a few friends, but I would really like to practice marine before I go with such a big tank with highly sensitive puffers.

So, I have a spare ten gallon. And I thought I could practice marine in it. This would give me the opportunity to study and understand some equipment, and Since the tank is small I could afford to try different equipment.

I was thinking fish only, and then once I get my feet wet..add some live rock in the ten gallon.

So my question is, is there a marine fish that would be happy spending it's life in a ten gallon?

I am not a fan of over-mixed community tanks..so I would prefer single species with perhaps a worker or two (provided a ten gallon would be suitable)

If there is not a fish that would do well in a 10, how about a creature?

Thanks! Any thoughts or opinions about my plan are also welcome!

olemiss reb
09/29/2010, 08:15 PM
I'm not familiar with ten gallon tank dimensions, but a single damsel should be fine. They are a good beginner fish as they are pretty hardy. They are aggressive but is a moot point since you are planning on a single fish. Live rock should be added from the get go. If you don't know, smaller tanks tend to be harder to maintain- much easier to crash. There is a "new to the hobby" section at the top of the page where you will probably get more responses.

purplecandle
09/29/2010, 08:30 PM