PDA

View Full Version : my new project tank, stand ,and shadowbox

littledabosalt
10/16/2010, 06:15 AM
My first step was to change this entertainment center into a fish tank stand for my 75g saltwater tank. I've never done a saltwater tank before, so I hope I thought all of this out ok.The first thing I had to do was lengthen the entertainment center 2 inches and get rid of the cabinet on the side. I also shortened the drawer in the center to accommodate the 20g wet dry I'm putting under the tank. dry I'm putting

littledabosalt
10/16/2010, 07:02 AM
I totally dissected the stand. built a new floor base and the pedestal was supported with braces. A new shelf was made that will go all the way across to hold the tank. I then cut the cabinet door to match the height of the shelf. since I am shortening the center drawer I cut it back so that my back panel is directly below the back of the fish tank for strength. I also had to make it accessible for feeding and for maintenance of the tank. So I reinforced the top of the stand so I could hinge it for maintenance and put a hinged front on it that folds up for feeding.

littledabosalt
10/16/2010, 01:49 PM
This is the finished stand. So tommorrow i'll work on the posting of the shadow box although it is not completed it is close. Got to go for now.

littledabosalt
10/17/2010, 10:34 AM