PDA

View Full Version : bean vs herbie overflow

SaltwaterAdict
10/20/2010, 02:06 PM
I'm going to be drilling my new tank and would like to drill the least amount of holes as possible.

I see herbie has originally came up with the idea of implementing a gate valve/ball valve to control the flow from the drain to make it a full siphon.

Would I be fine with using just 2 holes rather than 3. The gph will be roughly around 900gph, but I can tune it down if need be. I found this on brs and was thinking something like this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Pv3u0Sa1tk&feature=player_embedded

I also don't want the internal overflow box to be as long as the tank. I'd like to make it as least noticeable as I can. I was thinking a box around 12-15"x3"x3".

Please lmk what you think and if you'd suggest me do something different. This is my first attempt at incorporating this type of overflow and anyone with experience with one willing to share their input would be a big help. :)

James77
10/20/2010, 02:31 PM
Beans is alot safer, as there are more safeguards. If on the Herbie, your siphon gets blocked, you have just that open channel to accept all the water. On the bean,you have the 3rd for safety.

I use the Bean setup, and my siphon failed a couple weeks ago due to a stupid snail. Water was overflowing into the 3rd channel- for some reason the normal open channel was not accepting the full amount of water. Had I just 2 channel, it would have flooded.

Properly drilled and spaced holes won't weaken the glass much, and a siliconed overflow helps brace the area.

solitude127
10/20/2010, 04:55 PM
I use a Herbie o/f and like it. My backup drain is 1" and when testing it, it could handle the flow of my 1262.

SaltwaterAdict
10/20/2010, 05:06 PM
Beans is alot safer, as there are more safeguards. If on the Herbie, your siphon gets blocked, you have just that open channel to accept all the water. On the bean,you have the 3rd for safety.