PDA

View Full Version : Connecting sumps


James404
10/29/2010, 10:41 AM
Was searching but seemed to find different answers.

I am in process of gathering/planning for my 210g upgrade, and need to know if my idea of connecting two sumps will work.

I would like to run two 40 breeders, same height (no gravity feeding) under the stand, with 2 bulkheads between the two. One will hold my skimmer and zeo reactor, then the second one would have my heater, possibly some LR and then a bubble trap followed by return pump.

I have seen 1 or 2 people running similar and seems ok. Is this feasible?

10/29/2010, 12:46 PM
It's okay, but all of that would fit in a single 40B.

Jeff

James404
10/29/2010, 01:13 PM
well the skimmer is going to be quite large and I have the 3L zeo reactor so that is also rather large. Also would like to get as much extra water volume as possible. I realize I could just use a 75g under there but the height may be a problem if I ever want to pull the skimmer out for cleaning etc...

jkapit
10/30/2010, 07:56 AM
I created a similar setup. Two 55G acrylic tanks using a single 2" bulkhead head between the tanks. Works great since one sump tank is a refugium and the other has all my equipment.