PDA

View Full Version : can my floor handle all this weight?

kdc527
11/14/2010, 07:54 PM
I was planning on putting a 120 gallon tank in my basement and refinishing the basement. With the economy the way it is I don't have enough money to do both. So to get the most enjoyment out of my tank I will need to put it on the first floor. My question is my home was built in the early 70's and has 2x6 floor joists on 16" centers. The way the rafters run the tank will only be sitting on one rafter. I have not done any calculations but I am figuring the tank will weigh in at around 1100 pounds will my floor support that kind of weight? If not are there any inexpensive ways to support the floor so I can put my dream tank where I will enjoy it most?

rennne39
11/14/2010, 07:59 PM
I have mine on the second floor of my house

RenoR1
11/14/2010, 08:27 PM
assuming you remember that this is just ADVICE and I am by no means an expert, and you should consult one FIRST...Here is my .02

You should be okay. My house is just as old and it supports it just fine. If you want added security, place the tank over a joice (sp?) Or, and the more secure way, would be to go under the house and add one or two more support pillars. They are very easy to install. Then you should be able to park a f-250 in your living room ( DONT DO THAT!!!)

muttley000
11/14/2010, 08:41 PM
A 2x6 joist is not very big for a floor joist. I would definitly get a couple of those screw up floor jacks. Get two 8 foot 2x6 and cut them in half. Fasten the 2 halves together and use them to span 3 floor joists a foot in from where each end of the tank sits. I hope this makes sense, I would not let one 2x6 bear the weight of the whole tank.

RenoR1
11/14/2010, 08:51 PM
Ya, I kinda agree with Muttley after thinking about it some more.

redfishblewfish
11/14/2010, 10:02 PM