PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a fast growing coral

paul26
11/21/2010, 12:38 AM
hey rc!

my tank is 90g, and has been up for 3 months. im looking for my first coral and was interested in a fast growing coral. i heard that gsp and xenia are very fast growers and not very difficult to keep. can i have some suggestions and experience with these corals and others?

thanks guys

tomsfish
11/21/2010, 12:40 AM
I would recommend any soft corals and mushrooms as they are very hardy and fast growers.

dots
11/21/2010, 12:45 AM
GSP and Xenia can be a potential pain to remove if you decide to move in another direction for your overall look/theme.

"fast" why are you specifying this? With more information why, and the direction you are interested in going, we may be able to offer the most suitable recomedations.

paul26
11/21/2010, 12:56 AM
well im new to reefing. tank setup is

90 gallon rr
29 gallon sump with octo skimmer 110
80lbs lr
2x250w mh 20k

1 clown
5 chromis
1 pistol shrimp
1 fire shrimp

params: amm 0 nitrite 0 nitrate 0-5

2 15 % water changes a month

i want a good hardy coral that can "fill" in spots of the rock work. im very excited about my tank moving along and i would like to venture into corals.

dots
11/21/2010, 01:12 AM
Yeah, I thought that would be your answer. That can be a potential for problems if you do not realize it, to put it bluntly, right now!!

It takes years for a reef tank to become "photogenic" and all filled in. Only after care selection, husbandry and aquascaping do you achieve such.

I don't want to be a buzz kill, but buy this one coral and achieving moderate success in a few weeks ends with buying more and more spieces that either you may not have the experience yet to care for.....or your tank is not ready to support.

Worst case scenario, your upset with an empty tank because everything died and your out the money as well. Been there, done that....