PDA

View Full Version : questions on dosing kalwasser

reefkeeper78
11/22/2010, 11:58 AM
I'm trying to figure out the best way for me to dose a kalkwaser solution. I've never used this before nor do I know anyone who has. I have an ATO that is hooked direct to my RO filter so I have no bucket that I can mix the solution into. I do have a PH controler. Can I use a dosing pump and turn it on and off via the PH controler when a predertermined limit has been reached. I know the controller is capable of this but not sure if there will be major swings that will make the pump run eraticly. My setup is a 120 mixed reef with CA reactor and 125 sump in the basement. I know that my CO2 saturation is a part in this and I need to implement some sort of PH buffer to help with the massive swings that I get when the furnace kicks on. I'm in the process of doing an outside intake to fix that and I have my skimmer pulling outside air but my ph barely breaks 8.0 if at all durning the day and last night it hit a new low of 7.5ish.

Also should I run a 1.5ml dosing pump or 50ml per minute dosing pump and what buffer should I use and where do you buy it from. Sorry for the all the rambling stupid questions.

marke
11/22/2010, 06:05 PM
I buy my Kalk from Bulk reef supply BRS. They have some educational videos on kalk. check it out. I dose with a drews dosing pump from a 3 gal container. I wud not use the ph controller, but use a simple timer to turn on the dosing for your needs. Start testing for Ca,Kh,Mg,Ph, PO4, now and after you dose, dont over do it.

wesley6610
11/23/2010, 02:04 PM