PDA

View Full Version : Reef Crystals brown???

allsps40
12/07/2010, 07:42 PM
Ok I have gotten 2 buckets of the new Reef Crystals. Returned the first one cause it was mixing up with a brown tint to the water, alk was at 14 and ca was over 520. Mixed up 5 gallons of the new buck I just got to replace the last one and it is mixing brown also. I have not tested the new bucket yet but I will. Has anyone else had this issue?? I have been using Reef Crystals for 2 years now cause it is easy to get and cheap but I have never had it mix brown. This is just not right, I dont want my new water to be brown when my tank is crystal clear. I plan to take this bucket back also, maybe just get a bucket of IO.

bertoni
12/08/2010, 12:38 AM
Oh, sigh, the vitamins or amino acids might be tinting the water. I haven't heard of similar problems, but I'd definitely return the salt.

marke
12/08/2010, 06:24 AM
Any possibility its your RO/DI water? Maybe not the salt?

njudson
12/08/2010, 06:28 AM
Are you slowly adding the salt?

Spyder_78
12/08/2010, 06:32 AM
I have never had it turn brown but I have had several buckets that would leave a brown film in the mixing bucket. My RO/DI was fine when this happened.

EddieJ
12/08/2010, 07:48 AM
I have never had it turn brown but I have had several buckets that would leave a brown film in the mixing bucket. My RO/DI was fine when this happened.

I get the brown film on the power head and mixing can all the time, never had the water tint brown.

allsps40
12/08/2010, 05:34 PM
Any possibility its your RO/DI water? Maybe not the salt?
No I just put new filters in my RO unit.

allsps40
12/08/2010, 05:36 PM
Are you slowly adding the salt?
Doing it the same way I have done it for years. I add the salt a half cup at a time, sprinkling it in slowly.
Spyder_78, I also am getting the brown film in the bucket, never had this happen before. But the water for sure is brown as well.