PDA

View Full Version : Sump help

wbdevers
12/09/2010, 12:18 AM
Need some suggestions from everyone. My tank is a 55g FOWLR atm, but I will be adding my first coral Friday. When I first set up I didn't drill the tank. Of course hindsight is 20/20 and now wish I had. Regardless, I want to add a sump and a HOB overflow. My original plan was to use a 10g tank under my stand and rig from there. I've even drawn my idea in Google Sketch. My problem is that a 10 won't fit through my doors and I can't get to the holes in the back. My second thought has been to build a sump tank inside the stand piece by piece. Does anyone think this is feesable? I've never built a tank before. I am very handy, but I sure don't want it to leak. I've looked at acrylic, but again I would have to build inside the stand. I'm on a tight budget, so I can't order/ buy a custom made one.

Suggestions please!

Wes

Saltwatercoral2
12/09/2010, 12:22 AM
You can always run pipes so that the sump doest fit under your stand, you can put it in a different room or next to the tank, not really sure which you would prefer..

wbdevers
12/09/2010, 12:34 AM
Sump has to go under the tank. Our tank is in our living room along an L-shaped wall. The entertainment center is next to the tank, so I'm kind of in a bind. Again, 20/20!

Saltwatercoral2
12/09/2010, 12:40 AM
Do you have a picture of your stand with doors open and shut?

wbdevers
12/09/2010, 10:07 AM
Not really. My doors are 10" wide, but they are seperate doors with wood between. Therein lies my problem with room.

bobpiker
12/09/2010, 10:15 AM