PDA

View Full Version : 210 Gallon Pre-Build discussion

michael_in_nc
12/13/2010, 08:44 PM
So I've decided to upgrade my 75G to a 210G. I'm in the planning stages and wanted to get some feedback from the big tank crowd.

1. Tank vendor. I'm leaning towards Reef Savvy. Shipping cost will probably be high, but tank quality and customization seems worth it?

2. Starphire glass. Front panel only is $200 to upgrade. Is it worth it?

3. Sump / Refugium. I don't have a great fish room setup, so I plan to keep the bulk of the system under the tank. How big of a sump / refugium is right for a tank this size? I was thinking about a 55 - 65 gallon tank?

4. Circulation. I'm leaning towards internal pump system versus a closed loop. It seems simpler, more flexible, and probably about the same cost with maybe less power for the same water movement??? What kind of pumps does everyone use. I like the looks of the Ecotech Vortech, but they are pricey and I have no experience with them.

Lots of questions, and I'm sure I'll have more...

Thanks for the inputs,
Michael

PS - I'll start a build thread once I start getting gear in.

Aporia
12/14/2010, 06:14 PM
The most important thing is to make sure it has casters:lmao:

am3gross
12/14/2010, 08:05 PM
i have a 210 also.. i have vortechs.... 2 of them.... would suggest getting 4 total. i dont think i have enough random flow in mine.. you could do a closed loop and 2 vortechs. i think that would suffice.... alot depends on what you are trying to keep... sps? lps? mixture? i would figure out the inhabitants first and go from there.

my personal opinion on sumps is bigger the better... i am using a 75 gallon right now. i used to have a 100 gallon stock tank and 2 75s plumbed together... my tank looks good now but it has looked better..... one thing to consider is that if you have 285 gallons or 500 gallons of water the price goes up for supplements... part of the reason why i went with just a 75 on the new setup..