PDA

View Full Version : Appropriate Inhabitants for 60 Gallon Cube

Tradewinds
12/14/2010, 05:35 PM
I recently purchased a 60 gallon Marineland Cube and a 20 gallon sump. Tank dimensions are 24x24x24. I will use a Coralife Lunar Aqualight T5 for lighting.

What are some good fish/coral combinations given this is adequate lighting?

Sk8r
12/14/2010, 06:00 PM
Fishwise, you're good with any goby or blenny, gramma, dartfish; I won't recommend any angel, because they eat corals; fairy wrasses are a good small fish, but may pick at other fish: same with dottybacks, reef safe but bitey. Clowns would be ok, chromis, up to 3, cardinals, anything listed as 'nanofish'.
Choose fishes that have an adult size of 4" and under and you'll be good. I'm not experienced enough with T5s to tell how strong that light is, but definitely softie coral, maybe large polyp stony (lps) and if as bright as metal halides, up through sps, (small polyp stony.)

Dustin1300
12/14/2010, 08:23 PM
What's the T5 light consists of? Coralife is a descent starter light pendant with medium quality ballast for driving the T5s. In regards to fish, Sk8r is right on. Don't even try adding any tangs as a cube is not the place for this type of fish as it will easily stress with not much horizontal swimming room available. Have you had experience with coral or is this your first tank?

jenglish
12/14/2010, 08:27 PM
You can get away with some SPS near the top with a 4 bulb T5HO fixture, but more than 6 inches or so under the surface most SPS won't thrive. I have kept nems about 16 inches under the water with a similar light. Sand dwelling nems or clams are probably out with the depth of the cube. You have quite a bit of options ahead of you, with more things on the table than off. Think about what you want to keep and then see if you can meet it's needs.

Dustin1300
12/14/2010, 09:10 PM