PDA

View Full Version : Best controller for SPS tanks?

purplereef
12/16/2010, 05:09 PM
Hi Guys, I am just wondering which controller to get for my SPS tank? I need to replace my PH controller that went bad and I am confused as to which controller the hard core SPS people are using. I did a little searching myself and I narrowed it down to two controllers, the ReefKeeper Elite/Lite or the Neptune Apex/Lite. I consider myself to be Old-school so automation is not always the greatest thing to me, but I think it is time to try out what is out there today. Mods please don't move this over to the equipment forum because I want the SPS people's opinion, thanks.

sedorusc
12/16/2010, 05:26 PM
I use the reefkeeper lite and use it to automate my lighting, cal dosing, alk dosing and heater. there are other features to it but I'm not the most computer literate. I wish I could speak about the others but I have no experience with them.

mthomp
12/16/2010, 05:32 PM
Great question, I am on the fence with this atm with my new tank which is going to be sps dominant. Im torn to just using timers for my lights and kalk stirer with my ato rather then dose.

BuckeyeTodd
12/16/2010, 05:33 PM
I know I'm probably in the minority(but like you, I'm old school) but I haven't decided to trust everything in my tank to a computer...just the thought of what would happen if I'm out of town and the electric went out and the controller didn't reboot properly scares me pretty good. I'm looking to get a ranco to give added security on my heaters though.

Nanook
12/16/2010, 05:37 PM
I wonder which controller the softy keepers use, or the seahorse keepers?? A controller does just that, it controls things and it doesn't matter which type of coral you keep.

LifeAquatic
12/16/2010, 05:40 PM