PDA

View Full Version : Using RO/DI waste for hydroponics?

Virtuoso
12/18/2010, 11:33 AM
Sorry if this is the wrong forum for this, but it was the most accurate I could think of. I am new to the hobby and am still trying to understand exactly what goes on in an RO/DI filter. My quick question was, could I use the "waste" water from an RO/DI unit to grow hydroponic plants? Vegetables, flowers, etc? I am trying to think of ways not to waste the "waste" RODI water and I think this would be a good use in my setup if possible. I realize I may have to add extra nutrients or whatever, but would the RO/DI waste be completely unusable for this? Thank you.

HighlandReefer
12/18/2010, 11:50 AM
It would depend on the levels of the elements in your tap water which would be increased in concentrations in the waste water. For example, if copper levels are high in your tap water then the copper level would be even higher in the waste water from your rodi unit.

If your tap water has chlorine or chloramine in it, the ammonia level of your rodi water waste water will be much higher as well. ;)

Virtuoso
12/18/2010, 12:02 PM
Thank you for the quick response. While I do not currently have any testing supplies, you got me curious so I did look up the latest water testing results from my city. Would anyone let me know what they think? While I kind of understand what these numbers are saying, I do not have a lot to compare to. Thank you!

Gross alpha (pCi/L) - 0.249
Radium -226 and radium-228(pCi/L) - 0.763
Fluoride (ppm) - 0.82
Sodium (ppm) - 17.0
Nitrate (as Nitrogen) (ppm) - 0.084
Barium (ppm) - 0.003
*Copper (tap water) (ppm) - 0.0506
*Lead (tap water) (ppb) - 4.3
Total Trihalomethanes (ppb) - 52.2
Total Haloacetic Acids (ppb) - 32.9
Total Chlorine as Chloramine (ppm) - 3.17

HighlandReefer
12/18/2010, 12:11 PM