PDA

View Full Version : Pellet Users Poll: Flow

thebanker
12/18/2010, 02:59 PM
Please take a second to vote on how much flow your pellets get vs. their perceived and / or documented effectiveness. I realize this is a subjective poll, because every person could be using a different volume of pellets in a different reactor, with a different flow pattern, etc.

mark54321
12/18/2010, 06:25 PM
I have been using pellets for six months now in my 120gal. heavy stocked SPS tank and found out that for me the best results is that they are barely moving,almost not at all. My NO3 and PO4 readings are 0 and 0.02 respectively. My corals grow fast and colors are very vibrant.I have 14 fish total.I have 750 ml. of pellets.

thebanker
12/18/2010, 09:08 PM
Thanks. Good to know what's working for you.

Scej12
12/20/2010, 09:31 AM
Please take a second to vote on how much flow your pellets get vs. their perceived and / or documented effectiveness. I realize this is a subjective poll, because every person could be using a different volume of pellets in a different reactor, with a different flow pattern, etc.

Hey Mikey - thanks for setting up this poll - should help a lot if it gets the participation. I would also like to see parameters listed so that we can dig deeper into understanding the system, as well as it's possible effects.

My Prototype system is as follows:

- 500G total volume converting from a fish only (under-maintained) system into a thriving reef;
- LPS softies and Montipora's added 3 months ago with Nitrates 160+ ppm; Phosphates 1.5 ppm
- used gfo to bring phosphates down to .5 before taking off line;
- after 3 mos. the nitrates are down to approx. 40-60ppm
- approx. 3L of pellets running for the last 2 weeks. Lower 1/3 of reactor is slow flow, upper 2/3 of reactor is moderate flow. Nitrates appear to be dropping slightingly faster with apparent reason to believe the system should drop to 20ppm within a couple of weeks;