PDA

View Full Version : Water Chemistry for Complete Novices

Sk8r
12/19/2010, 11:09 AM
Bertoni's going to have to help me on this one, but I'm a perfect person to try to break this down in simplest possible terms, because I am hopeless as a chemist.

1. tap water vs ro/di water and your salt mix.
First, tap water isn't just water: it's got chloramine, a fish killer, in it. Water conditioners remove that, but DON'T remove copper (an invert killer), phosphate (algae fertilizer), or any of 3 pages worth of things that can be in your tap water.
Ro or ro/di water filtration cleans all those 3 pages of stuff out and leaves you with 'empty' water. Water that is just nicely ready for your salt mix...which will turn it into really nice sea-water.
Just occasionally somebody will ask "Can I use table salt?" and the answer is a strong no. A salt mix has much, much, much more than just salt. It has buffers, trace elements, and that staple of marine life---calcium, plus magnesium. Salts intended for reefs have more calcium than those intended for fish-only. If you go cheap on salt, you may end up adding calcium---or not, if you ARE fish-only.
Water changes are to replace the trace elements your fish and corals use up in their metabolism. That's why you do them. If you skip them, your water gets further and further from the nice balance you started with. In addition to those changes, there are only 3 supplements a novice may need, plus the corresponding tests: alkalinity buffer [dkh], calcium, and magnesium. If you keep fish or softies, you need the alkalinity buffer, and its test. The others certainly won't hurt at all, [you will never harm your fish by having still better water] but you should definitely at least have the buffer. If you're headed for stony corals, you need all three. A logbook is a very good idea, in which you write the date, what you added, and what the readings were when you added it. Dose INTO a TREND, don't play catch-up with a reading-already-gone-bad.