PDA

View Full Version : Marineland Reef Capable LED Fixture-Wishful thinking?

TMF89
12/28/2010, 04:23 PM
Hey guys, I live in a college rental house where the electircal system is very finicky, it works fine but has a very low tolerance for amps, and right now the breakers are about at their limit. Now I've heard all the arguments and all the advice about putting a tank in the house with that, so please just stick to advising me on this product. At this point if I want a reef tank I'll either have to run an extension cord from the bathroom (separate circuit) to the tank for a MH fixture (I know you're not supposed to use them permanently, but so far all I can find on why not is just because OSHA and other organizations say you shouldn't. And even they don't say what constitutes "permanent", so I'm almost thinking it's mainly a liability issue), or have to look into LEDs. However I AM a college student, so I'm trying to budget everything. Would I be able to keep some low-moderate light corals with something like this? It'll be on a 29 gallon tank, which is 18" tall and 30" long. I also have a 20L tank, which is the same length but only 12" tall. Would the six inches make a difference?

http://************.com/2010/08/27/reef-capable-led-marineland-lighting-fixtures-released/

chadfarmer
12/28/2010, 06:52 PM
u have to raise them atleast12 inches over the water to get some spread out of them

TMF89
12/28/2010, 08:26 PM
How do they do at keeping the corals alive?

chadfarmer
12/28/2010, 08:46 PM
no clue they just got 1 at local fish store on a nano cube

andyman
12/29/2010, 03:07 AM
well looking at my lux meter I can give you my readings.

12" below the light but above the water and directly under the light I get a lux of 13k lux

move 3" to the side of the light (right or left of the mid of the light) and lux drops to 1.4k lux.