PDA

View Full Version : OK, went out for awhile, where's my wrasse?

WienerDog
01/05/2011, 08:30 PM
Is this a familiar story. I am new to reefkeeping and decided to get a McCoskers wrasse. I have an eggcrate cover...pretty secure, not alot of spaces. went out for awhile....gone. I cant find him ANYWHERE in the tank. Now, I have two Basst Hounds.
Is it safe to say that I had a short lived relationship with the little fella and maybe my hillbilly basset hounds had sushi?
Or (please tell me this) are the hiders of the reef?

WienerDog
01/05/2011, 09:05 PM
Anyone have experience with MIA wrassese?

SushiGirl
01/05/2011, 09:22 PM
Did you check the holes in the rock with a flashlight? Mine slept in holes in the rock, with a mucous cocoon around it. They are small enough to fit through eggcrate, though. Watch your dogs & see if they keep going over to the floor area around the tank & sniffing around. Dogs are notorious for returning to a place on the floor that they found food LOL.

WienerDog
01/05/2011, 09:30 PM
I am hoping he was just hiding. He was really active all over earlier. I looked everywhere. Tomorrow, I'll move some rock around. I'll be siftin' some hound poop in da mornin'!!

skibum9884
01/05/2011, 09:49 PM
First off, is it just egg crate? You're gonna need some finer netting than that as a flasher wrasse (or fairy for that matter) can jump through them.

I doubt the dogs got to it. Either it's jumped (hopefully not), or hiding in the rocks (a very likely scenario).

sfboarders
01/06/2011, 12:56 AM
I had my mystery wrasse jump out last Sunday. Didn't see him swimming around and checked around the floor. My wife asked if I checked the back of the tank and what do you know. It went carpet surfing. If you don't see it. I'd consider your dogs or cuc ate it. :(

snorvich
01/06/2011, 06:40 AM
Egg crate will NOT keep fish in.

WienerDog
01/06/2011, 07:29 AM