PDA

View Full Version : Apex mini DIN8 connection problems


jmait769
01/09/2011, 12:39 PM
I have been trying to setup the mini DIN8 connection on the Apex and need some help. I have set this up for a breakout/switch system like DIY Apex Breakout Box Instructions/Parts List (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1847474) the way jrpark22000 set his up at the bottom of the thread. So far the Apex will not recognize any of the switches. I have made a jumper to test the mini DIN8 connection, removing my system from the equation, and when I short pins 1 and 8 I get nothing. I have checked all connections with an ohm meter before the mini DIN and have solid connections. Do I have to turn something on to make the Apex recognize and use the mini DIN connection?

Here is what I have programmed so far:

Expansion port is set on and I have rebooted the system

Email setup:
Set OFF
If Temp > 82.0 Then ON
If Temp < 77.0 Then ON
If pH < 07.70 Then ON
If pH > 08.40 Then ON
If Switch1 CLOSED Then ON

I get no email when switch1 is jumped. I do get email for the others.

I have setup four virtual outlets with the following code (this is the code for the first switch):

vSwitch1_A13
If Switch1 CLOSED Then ON
If Switch1 OPEN Then OFF

I have this code for my return pump:

Fallback ON
Set ON
If FeedA 000 Then OFF
If Switch1 CLOSED Then OFF

This will not turn the pump off if switch1 is closed.

Thanks for any help!

Jay

RussM
01/09/2011, 12:52 PM
As I understand it, the Expansion Port setting should only be enabled when a PX-1000 is connected. Try turning that off and see what happens.

jmait769
01/09/2011, 01:07 PM
Thanks Russ! I changed back to off, rebooted, but still the same. This has been harder than setting up the web server! :)

Jay

aquamanic
01/09/2011, 03:13 PM
You should have continuity between any pin and ground if you touch the appropriate pin on the DIN plug and ground. If you don't have that continuity then you've got things wired wrong in your BB. If you look at the plug (male) head on, the pins should line up as follows:

(from left to right, top to bottom): Top row – 6, 7, 8; Middle row – 3, 4, 5; Bottom row – 1, 2. There's a space between 4 and 5. Each of pins 1 - 6 corresponds to a switch, 7 is not used, 8 is ground.

There's nothing you need to do on the Apex to enable switches. They're enabled by default.

I found that programming the SoundAlarm outlet helps debugging.

Set OFF
If Switch1 = CLOSED Then ON

Just change that to switch2, 3, etc..as you test. Plug in the DIN cable from your BB then start grounding the back of the jacks. Your Apex should squeal when you complete each circuit.

Hope that helps.

jmait769
01/09/2011, 06:44 PM
Thanks Allan that helped. I narrowed it down to one of two problems. The DIN 8 connection. It is either the cable or the female receptacle on the Apex. I got the cable from Cables to Go. It is like the pins are too thin and are not making contact in the female connection. In order to make a contact between pin 8 and 1, in the female connection, I have to insert some wire that is shaped like the Greek Ω symbol and the switch closes (I hope that makes sense!). I ordered another male connector from Fry and hope the pins are slightly thicker. Will try that first as I do not want to return the Apex if I do not have to.

Jay

aquamanic
01/09/2011, 06:58 PM
Try bending the pins just a little using some needle nose pliers. You can even pinch them just slightly and see if that helps make better contact.

reefkeeps
01/13/2011, 09:57 PM
Set OFF
If Switch1 = CLOSED Then ON

When i tried that code attached to the emailalm I get the following message when I try to save....

"\\ Error: Expected CLOSED or OPEN "

Clearly I'm doing something wrong....

aquamanic
01/13/2011, 10:07 PM
get rid of the = sign

RussM
01/13/2011, 10:08 PM
reefkeeps, the = is not needed. The proper syntax is:

If Switch1 CLOSED Then ON

You're not the first to make that tiny mistake :eek2:

reefkeeps
01/13/2011, 10:13 PM
Thanks Russ, that did it....

RussM
01/13/2011, 11:45 PM
Thanks Russ, that did it....Alan gets the 2 points for this one... he beat me by a few seconds.

jrpark22000
01/14/2011, 10:07 AM
Thanks Allan that helped. I narrowed it down to one of two problems. The DIN 8 connection. It is either the cable or the female receptacle on the Apex. I got the cable from Cables to Go. It is like the pins are too thin and are not making contact in the female connection. In order to make a contact between pin 8 and 1, in the female connection, I have to insert some wire that is shaped like the Greek Ω symbol and the switch closes (I hope that makes sense!). I ordered another male connector from Fry and hope the pins are slightly thicker. Will try that first as I do not want to return the Apex if I do not have to.

Jay

Do you have an OHM meter? If so, have you validated you have connectivity from each din8 pin to the rj45 keystonejack on pins 1 and 8.

Drop me a pm with some more details or photos if you think the problem was in building of the breakout box or its wiring.

jmait769
01/14/2011, 10:43 AM
Do you have an OHM meter? If so, have you validated you have connectivity from each din8 pin to the rj45 keystonejack on pins 1 and 8.

Drop me a pm with some more details or photos if you think the problem was in building of the breakout box or its wiring.Yes, all connections have been ohmed out and are good. My problem is at the Apex. The last pic you can see my test plug. Once plugged into the female connector on the Apex I ground out pin 8 (blue wire) to each of the 6 switches. I have the code as above and get nothing. If I remove the test plug and insert the small jumper wire shaped like this: Ω and move it around some I can get it to activate the alarm and send an email.

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n172/jmait769/SW003-1.jpg

Checking connectivity here.

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n172/jmait769/SW002-1.jpg

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n172/jmait769/SW001-1.jpg

What I decided to do was order the plug you used in your build and replace the one on my cable. I also was in the process of ordering the PM2 and see that it also has a mini DIN8 receptacle on it. So maybe that will fix my problem. Thanks for posting your build as I was going in a different direction and like what you came up with!

Jay

jrpark22000
01/14/2011, 10:58 AM
Sounds like you have it narrowed down. I'm glad you were able to use the build idea for your setup.

On a side note, the mini din connector from Frys does fit a little looser than I would like into the Apex. I use a px1000 and moved the breakout to it's I/O connector where it fits very tightly. The px1000 mini din cable also fits tightly into the Apex. But all that said, the Frys connector did work and triggered all of the switch inputs.

jmait769
01/19/2011, 08:35 PM
Just to follow up on this in case someone else runs into the same problem: I ended up having to modify the pin holder (black plastic piece) in the mini DIN 8 plug and the PM2 receptacle. I had to make the pin side (left side in jrpark22000‘s pic below) thinner by using some sand paper.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=135293&d=1294320204

This basically allowed the pins to extend further into the female connection. I also had to very carefully enlarge the female holes on the PM2 with a .041 drill bit by hand (no drill). Just the plastic portion of the hole that you can see. As soon as I did this I had complete connectivity with all 6 switches! Thanks everyone for their input!

Jay