PDA

View Full Version : Need help building Return "T" connector

travis32
01/14/2011, 07:40 AM
I have an external pump with 3/4" connections.

I currently have a PVC "T" connector that has 2 connections for the return hoses to the tank.

I had to replace my return pump and this PVC "T" is dripping water from a couple different spots on it. (seems and connections).

I need to replace it and am thinking of building a "Y" or "T" connection out of Flexible tubing and plastic parts.

Does anyone have information on if there's a better "Leak free" build I could do. I'm new to plumbing and I have to say this seems rather daunting task. So, any type of parts list, from like Lowes or Home depot and plans. would be very helpful.

I appreciate any info you can provide.

reefermad619
01/14/2011, 11:20 AM
Are you trying to achieve max flow from the retrun pump, or is retrun flow from the return not a factor for you?

travis32
01/14/2011, 12:07 PM
It's a brand new pump and it's more flow than I had with my old pump, nearly overflowed the tank, so flow could be cut back some into the tank.

I was thinking a Y connector vs. A T would help maintain flow and maybe assist in reducing chances of leaking?

Thoughts?

I want to get the parts this afternoon if possible to get it done today so I have the weekend when I'm home to test for leaks and any potential issues.

travis32
01/14/2011, 04:22 PM