PDA

View Full Version : Fish Ideas for Newbie- 3x3x2 reef and fish tank

sarah12345
01/20/2011, 03:21 AM
Hi Everyone,
My name is Sarah and I've been keeping freshwater fish for about 6 years now. Bred and kept many things but have decided to take a leap into saltwater fishkeeping/reefkeeping. It's early days now, I've never kept salt before so do not know much about it as of yet. Just enjoying the possibilities at this point in time.

The tank I would like to use for my first salt tank is my 3x3x2. Was a discus display but I feel it would be better suited to my dream starter reef. I am wanting to create (slowly) a beautiful reefscape with many reefsafe fish. The only fish I must have in the setup so far are a pair of picasso clowns that I absolutely adore. Also I would like a feature anemone for them (I know this will be a challenge).

Could anyone reccomend what kind of fish you would keep in such a display. The dimensions of the tank are restrictive lengthwise and I'm not sure what reef-safe fish would suit something like this. I love the look of many dwarf angels (gasp) and butterflyfish, prefering fish with bulkier shape rather than thin fish if that makes sense.

Throw some ideas my way :D

AaronM
01/20/2011, 06:11 AM
I've had both a coral beauty and then a flame angel. Both have fit in well with the rest of the peaceful community, consisting of a lawnmower blenny, yellow wrasse, 2 ocellaris clownfish and a mimic tang. Heard it said they can pick at coral, but mine only ever pick at rock. Both peaceful except for some occasional half hearted tail flicking...

Lemon peel mimic tang? Mines yellow with purple eyeshadow and sideburns atm...

sarah12345
01/20/2011, 07:31 AM
Love the idea of the coral angel, was thinking that already. Most likely will be on the stocking list. I love regal angelfish too. Any other suggestions anyone?

TP123
01/20/2011, 09:00 AM