PDA

View Full Version : IFN's 33 Gallon HOB Project

I_Found_Nemo
01/25/2011, 01:42 PM
Hi everyone! First I'll introduce myself... I'm a full time student in eastern canada in the third year of my bachelors of commerce degree. I tried to get a poorly thought out and ill-prepared/rushed tank going a couple years ago and failed miserably, so after some research, I have decided to give it another show with a slightly larger setup :dance:

The goal of this is to get it running and stable some time before I (hopefully) move 18 hours away for my law degree, and have the tank able to come with me for the three years I intend to stay there. I haven't fully thought out the logistics of this yet, but I figured a full HOB setup would be most practical for this goal.

The tank will be set up on my desk which will provide a few key things:
1. Near where I spend a lot of my time, which will provide me with some more light and a more relaxing work environment
2. Near my RO source (directly beside the garage)
3. I don't have to build a stand :thumbsup: I have already jumped up on my desk with my girlfriend and it supported us dancing around no problem (combined weight just slightly below the expected weight of this setup).

I know its not the best idea to have near electronics, but everything is about 6 feet away and far outside any possible "splash zone." I'll take a chance and if things start going sour, I'll figure something out. If the tank erupts, well, then I'm screwed.

I plan on making this a complete mix of everything, I'm a big fan of color, so the more colorful something is, the more likely I am to have it in my tank, given proper comparability with other things in the tank.

First up, I picked up my tank which measures 36"x12"x17" and is made by Hagen at the LFS. They were on sale for $65 tax in! :) I know its not the best tank, but it should do the trick. I also picked up a 10 gallon QT while I was there.