PDA

View Full Version : Good Low light Corals?

popomon
01/26/2011, 11:26 PM
Hey guys, total noob to the reef world, although I've kept several planted tanks in the past. I wanted to setup a small 20gal long mantis tank, so i won't be running insanely high lights, but was hoping maybe 2.5wpg with the coralife 30"t5ho. any suggestions on easy to keep corals? I'll be getting a tunze 9002 protein skimmer, 2 koralia nano's for water flow and cal+kalk dosing with mg. I should be able to afford the equipment (hoping its around $800 initial) within 2 months. I thought maybe there would be more leeway with the shallow depth and moderately high LR placement. Had a layout mapped on paper, but no scanner. Any more necessary information required and tips will be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance

AeonPhoenix
01/26/2011, 11:36 PM
My Kenya Trees did great under 2.5w per gallon. The light was even 2 years old and devoid of spectrum. This is even before I used RO water and that Kenya Tree got huge under terrible conditions.

Other species that do well under medium lighting are various zoos, mushrooms, hammers, frogspawn, and a select few LPS like caulastrea or acanthastrea.

SPS like Acropora, Montipora, or Capriconis is pretty much out of the question.

A good practice with lower lighting is to build a "shelf" in your aquascaping to bring the corals up closer to the light. This creates awnings and caves below which are great habitat for fish and inverts. The trick is finding a peice of rock that is long, wide, and flat that will serve as your plateau. I actually ended up having to use a peice of lace rock for this that had lots of little holes in it great for pluggin in frags.

If you have T5 HO lights with good par, you might be able to just set the corals at the bottom.

stevie-o
01/26/2011, 11:59 PM