PDA

View Full Version : Anyone loosing or lost tissue with biopellets?

bridun22ajl
01/27/2011, 09:41 AM
I seem to be getting some stn/rtn on a few acros and the only thing i can think of is the bio pellets. I have been running them for 6 months now. in the beginning it was good but now its the only thing i can attribute the stn to.

my alk is 8-7dkh

I was running gfo with the pellets but i have took it off a week ago.

Im loosing tissue at the base of some and in the middle on others. I dont see any pest if i dip. nor do i see any eggs. I tried basting and nothing came off so im ruling out any pest.

thanks in advance.

reefyourself
01/27/2011, 10:49 AM
I would re-check alkalinity and make sure to check other params as well. Can you give us more details of your tank please

bridun22ajl
01/27/2011, 11:41 AM
The tank is 90 gal. No nitrate or phos(Hanna). I use itech cone skimmer. 2 vortech mp40. Alk was lower a few weeks ago at like 6-7dkh and I slowly bumped it up to where it is now,8-7 dkh.(salifert)

bridun22ajl
01/27/2011, 12:18 PM
Tank has been set up for 4 years and I have never really had any problem keeping acro until now. Will I shock the system if I remove the pellets and just go back to gfo?

flipit13
01/27/2011, 03:57 PM
were was your alk before it dropped to 6-7dkh? also what is your cal and mag?

i have noticed that usually issues such as spikes and drops dont show there effects on sps till weeks later. then you have to rack your brain to try and figure out what happen.

just my 2 cents

nemeth27
01/27/2011, 04:01 PM
When I was dosing VGV (which has a similar concept of creating more bacteria) I started to have STNing at the bases of my corals. I believe I was dosing too much VGV and almost no nutrients were left in the watter. I stopped dosing right away, fed heavily and did a 20% water change. The STNing stopped and a month later the bases started to grow back. Now everything is growing great again.