PDA

View Full Version : Why are bioballs bad?

dafunkyman
01/27/2011, 06:29 PM
Being new to the hobby, these bioballs which increased surface area and accumulate beneficial bacteria sounded great. But since I have been on RC many people say that bioballs are nitrate factories and should be either taken out or replaced with LR. I did some research and I read that the only reason they are nitrate factories is because the catch waste that floats in the water. I also read that having a mechanical filter before the bioballs will prevent anything in the water from reaching and getting caught in bioballs which would make the bioballs effective. So which is it? Are they effective with a mechanical filter or are they just plain bad?

Chuck H.
01/27/2011, 06:41 PM
From my understanding (I'm no expert): they can be traps for debris/detritus in all of their nooks and crannies, but like you mentioned a good mechanical pre-filter can assist with this. They are also very efficient, due to surface area being colonized by beneficial bacteria, of converting ammonia and nitrite into nitrate. But that is the problem...the bacteria that colonizes bio-balls, ceramic rings, bio-wheels, etc. is all aerobic- they love oxygen and they do produce nitrate as the end result of their labor. Live Rock on the other hand, the preferred method for biological filtration in our reef tanks, house different bacteria deep within it that is anaerobic - not needing oxygen - and actually feeds on nitrate, thus helping us keep nitrates low. LR is the total package...aerobic bacteria on the outside, anaerobic bacteria inside, and bio-balls are not. However, with that being said, I have a Tidepool II wet-dry with a large bio-wheel for my Undy and it is a good filter for that purpose and my nitrate is manageable.

DoubleM 10
01/27/2011, 07:03 PM