PDA

View Full Version : Pseudanthias tuka

snorvich
01/29/2011, 07:09 AM
Does anyone keep this beautiful fish successfully? If so, what is the trick? Thanks in advance.

MCCOOL
01/29/2011, 09:22 AM
A LFS in my area has had a pair now for ~1.5 years. They are in a tank that's about 120 gallons (weird deminsions) with a number of other fish ( flame wrasse pair, radiant wrasse, CBB, LNB, pair or dragonettes, pair of janns pipefish, chevron tang to name a few). These fish have huge bellies, and eat everything thrown in tank including mysis, live blackworms, pellets, etc.

They are very large (~4-5") and have no problem taking down big food items. The tank itself has no mechanical filtration at all, no sump, no skimmer, it does have a couple of vortech's and a lot of caulerpa growing in it though.

I have no personal experience with them, so obviously I don't know what to attribute their success to, (maybe the fact that there is no sump/skimmer to remove microfauna?), but figured the info might still be useful.

I'll snap a pic next time I'm over that way, but it's about 45 miles away, so who knows when that'll be.

SDguy
01/29/2011, 11:39 AM
Steve, the purposeful success stories I've either read about or seen in pereson involve CONSTANT feeding of very specific small foods like eggs, live foods, and some tiny frozen foods. NPS tanks with constant feedeing systems are probably ideal. The rest I call "lucky" success stories - often going through many to find a few that live. I think there are some great foods available nowadays, so it's possible, but unless your willing to put in some major effort, I wouldn't get them. JMHO.

snorvich
01/29/2011, 01:01 PM