PDA

View Full Version : Is dkh 8 bad to run a tank at?

Baldwin
01/30/2011, 06:32 PM
Ph is stable at 8.00 and salinity .024. Calcium 450-500, nitrate and phosphate undetectable. I have b-ionic on hand and also kalkwasser. I was planning on keeping the tank at 11 dkh but the corals all seem really happy. I have mostly softies and Lps. The only thing I can notice is the softies seem to molt a lot. I know 8 dkh is close to natural conditions but most people have told me I should keep it higher. Any experts out there that can fill me in?

andrewsky
01/30/2011, 06:38 PM
im no expert, but i know that dkh is suppose to be between 8-12 dkh, thats what i read up online. mines at 10 dkh and my corals are thriving. and if your using B-ionic that should help atleast raise it a little. but i'm positive your fine with 8 dkh, but it could be raised just for good purposes.

djkms
01/30/2011, 06:41 PM
Anything below 9 seems to really upset my corals.

Sent from my Droid Incredible.

flyyyguy
01/30/2011, 06:41 PM
8 is perfect IMO

its where all of my tanks are kept

sland
01/30/2011, 06:46 PM
I try to keep mine between 8-10....8-9 being my happy place

bertoni
01/30/2011, 06:48 PM
I think 8 dKH is fine for most systems. Soft corals should be okay over a fairly wide range of alkalinity levels.

Baldwin
01/30/2011, 07:02 PM
So basically, I know that my system fluctuates between the monthly 25 percent water changes the levels are going to lower, but I haven't added any kalk or calcium to the tank and the levels are still good over a month since last water cahnge. What I gather from this information is that I shouldn't be adding anything to the tank in terms of alk/calcium and that just doesn't seem right does it?

bertoni
01/30/2011, 07:06 PM
If the dKH stays above 7, the tank should be fine. :)

Baldwin
01/30/2011, 07:56 PM
Ok good deal, i think i may still add like 20 ml of b-ionic 2 part a day maybe to stabilize the levels more?

bertoni
01/30/2011, 08:48 PM