PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, Amonia spike, Advice please!!

ReefKnot
01/31/2011, 03:08 PM
I apologize in advance, this turned out longer than I thought, but I'm really concerned, any help would be really welcome....

I'm new to the hobby, I have a 29g with 30lbs of live rock. I am having an ammonia spike, and just wanted to explain what went down, and I would really appreciate any comments or advice. I've been to my LFS, but I'd like some second opinions.

On saturday I wanted to re build my LR design because of poor flow and I didn't like the aesthetics. I took everything out, including livestock, and began to clean the substrate. I had prepped some fresh SW, to do a water change when I refilled. The cleaning kicked up a bit of cloudiness, but not much. After building the rock set-up I wanted, I had problems getting my HOB filter to pump properly. While attempting to fix it, I knocked over a couple rocks which kicked up a huge amount of crap. I couldn't see through the tank. I fixed the filter and rock set-up, added the clean water, 30%, and gave the tank as long as I could to settle. I added the livestock, even though it was a bit cloudy. It took 24 hours to clear up. I also did another WC the next day. There was a fairly large dusting of brown fuzz, (settling detritus?) around the tank, which I have removed about 75% of with the second WC.

My fish + inverts seem fine, but today when I tested, I found a 0.25 ammonia level. I took a water sample to my LFS and they confirmed that. They told me theres nothing I can do about it but I was told to watch my fish for strange coloring, cloudy eyes, being lethargic; I have seen none of these signs, they look fine.