PDA

View Full Version : ORP with water change

flyingace2005
02/06/2011, 09:07 AM
I am just wondering exactly why my ORP drops drastically whenever I do a water change. I know that it's gotta be caused from the change water having low ORP but why does it have a low ORP and what can I do to make it even with the tank water? I do not run ozone on the tank and I run an airstone in my change water for a week.

HighlandReefer
02/06/2011, 10:13 AM
I am no expert regarding ORP in the reef aquarium. It is a very complicated subject. ;)

I would not try to match ORP between your salt mix and your tank water. It will equalize out.

If the Orp in your salt mix is low then this means the reducers out number the oxidizers, simply put.

From Randy's article noted below these are some of the reducers that can cause your Orp in salt mix to drop:

"Reducers:

Metals: Fe++ (iron), Mn++ (manganese), many others

Most organics, especially "antioxidants" like vitamin C

Inorganics: I- (iodide), S-- (sulfide), NO2- (nitrite), NH3 (ammonia)"

Some salt mixes have organics like vitamins added to the the mix which may cause this. Salt mixes are known to contain some ammonia as well.

ORP and the Reef Aquarium
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-12/rhf/feature/index.php

HighlandReefer
02/06/2011, 10:26 AM
I would also add for your knowledge Randy's final statement regarding ORP in the Reef Aquarium from the above noted link:

"Recommendations for ORP