PDA

View Full Version : Understanding Polyp Extension

UWUALineman
02/12/2011, 04:35 PM
I've been keeping SPS for about 2 years now, and polyp extenion on stonies continues to leave my mind asking questions. I have some coral that show polyp extension 24hrs a day. Some coral show significant polyp extenions at night. Some show polyp extenions part of the time. Some, never at all. My monti's are doing great, and showing extension all through the day. As most of my acros do as well. My miami orchid (does from time to time show), ice tort, and a few others which I can't bring to mind what the names are, never show extension. Is this related to species? Common occurrence?

Wiskeyrebel
02/12/2011, 09:49 PM
Would like to know this to

Brian Chong
02/13/2011, 02:20 AM
my best guess is that many grow in different environments and adapt. some have evolved from areas where there are more predators while others are from safer areas. some are from areas where food is available more at night rather than day etc. some may prefer more photosynthesis because of more available light while others prefer to feed more. could be anything, so i dont worry about it too much. only when there is no polyp extension in my tank. then it might be red bugs or some other pests or flow or lighting.

Brian Chong
02/13/2011, 02:22 AM
or parameters as i have recently learned from my own experience a drop in magnesium (380 to 300) will decrease polyp extension as well

Brian Chong
02/13/2011, 02:24 AM
ooops i meant 1380 to 1300:)

SPSEMPIRE
02/13/2011, 06:22 AM
assuming that you have adequate flow, it is your phosphate level. Phosphates too high create less polyp extension. Low phosphates will create a lot of polyp extension while the polyp is hungry and looking for food. If phosphates are too low for a while, the polyp will die off and will show little, if any, polyp extension. Finding that line to walk is the trick to having great polyp extension and still a healthy coral.

jonnybravo22