PDA

View Full Version : Saltwater Noob, question about Live Rock Hitchhiker

VoiceInTheDeser
02/18/2011, 01:19 PM
First of all, Hi. I just signed up for the forum and look forward to poking around and learning all kinds of new things.

The reason I seek you out is that I recently went to a saltwater tank. I've been doing freshwater for years and years, but only recently started up in the marine environment, so I have very little experience and am trying to take everything slow.

I bought a setup from a guy in town that is a 55g tank with live rock and sand. I decided that since this is my first marine venture, I'm not going to do corals this time. Maybe when I have more experience and money, but it seemed like a bad starter tank.

So I brought the setup home, got it running, let it cycle and soon discovered the little guy in the attached picture below. He was quite small at first, and I took it as a sign that the tank was coming along nicely.

Fast forward to now (about 8 weeks later) and I'm adding fish (two clowns and a firefish for now) and he is the size you see in the picture. Somewhere around an inch from base to the end of his tentacles. I think I saw it snatch a piece of shrimp out of the current when I was feeding the clowns, so I think it's carnivorous?

So I was hoping you guys could tell me what it is? I seem to have two of this kind and several other, different looking (more feathery) ones on various rocks now. This is the only one I've observed having a taste for blood.

What I'm mainly worried about is if it's going to hurt my fish/hermit crabs or if any fish I'm thinking of adding (maybe a dwarf angel and a goby) would potentially harm it. The clowns and firefish seem completely disinterested, but I've seen the crabs approach it (but never touch it).

namxas
02/18/2011, 01:25 PM