PDA

View Full Version : Can I plumb my external pump below the sump level?

nightOwl
02/24/2011, 09:18 AM
I am new to external pumps and in the process of plumbing my new tank My 180 Upgrade (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1930510) and have a question about my return pump placement and using a T vs Wye. Is it OK to place the pump below the sump level to ensure water is always available to the intake? The return section of the sump is currently set to 8" of water. In most setups I have seen the pump level with the sump. My pump (Reefflo Snapper) will be located to the right of the stand and then there will be multiple branches back to the tanks. The intake is 2" and the return is 1-1/2". One branch will go to the main tank the other to the frag tank. I also have to decide which line will feed the in-line chiller. It is a Trade-Wind 1/2 HP chiller. I was thinking the branch to the frag tank would feed the chiller and then to the frag tank. I just have to decide if the return from the chiller will go in the frag tank, sump, or main display. So any suggestions will be helpful. So many decisions still to make. The pictures below show what I currently have (dry fit) please excuse the mess in the pictures as I am still figuring things out. Is it better to use a Wye vs a T?

From sump to pump
http://inlinethumb47.webshots.com/24750/2290028120048177406S600x600Q85.jpg

With Wye installed
http://inlinethumb48.webshots.com/46511/2815667200048177406S600x600Q85.jpg

Thanks

nightOwl
02/24/2011, 11:56 PM
Anyone have any input?

Dhummel64
02/25/2011, 12:44 AM
i have the Reeflow Tarpon running for my tank, i think you'll be fine having the line to the pump that way, i have mine straight from the sump, about 1' away. i think the pump is so powerful it sucks very well from the sump.
that way you'll have water there all the time.
i like the Y on the return, i have a T, the water will hit the Y faster then the T because of the angle.