PDA

View Full Version : Help! Need some help, been out for a while!

X_not_again_x
02/28/2011, 12:04 AM
Well, I have been out of the hobby for a few years and its amazing what you can forget! I have a 25g Solana and I'm in the process of going through my cycle. My first issue I'm having is reaching PH. I test, and it never changes. I wait 24-48 hours and I dose then retest 24 hours later etc etc. I'm stuck at 8.0, I want to get to 8.1 (not a big deal but I'm picky) Also, I never realized how much evaportation I'm going to have with a topless tank. I know people probably think I'm silly for complaining about topping off a 25g tank, but it really does become a hassle topping off daily, or every other day. I'm looking for a link for a semi-cheap ATO, even DIY is fine. I'm not looking at spending a lot of money, but the issue is, I'm not very technical! So I don't know anything about wiring, etc.

Next question, I have topped off twice so far this week, will this lower my PH when I top off? Do I need to be buffing this water? Or no?

Final question, I have a 150W MH + 2 14W T5's, how long should I keep these running per day? 11AM-8PM? Etc etc.

Size of tank: 25g
Age of tank 6 days.
Sump: Solana.
Skimmer: Solana.
nitrate: 0
ammonia: 8ppm +
temperature: 79-81
Water source RO/DO
Salinity: 1.025
Alkalinity: Not testing yet.
Lights 150W MH + 2 14W T5's
Calcium: Dosing but not yesting.
Magnesium Haven't tested yet.
Dosing? Calcium, Buffing as needed, Alk, and seachem reef essentials.

Thanks a lot in advance! I know it's a lot of questions, but help would be amazing!

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l205/imu7899/DSC00163.jpg

Michael
02/28/2011, 01:10 AM