PDA

View Full Version : Help! I need advice.

travisw30
03/10/2011, 03:49 PM
Yes i am pretty new at reefing. I made a mistake. I buit a sump with 2 baffles.
However iused GE II silicone which is mold resistant. Ive noticed since i added it one frag of SS died pretty quick. Rapid tissue loss. now most of my sps polyps are receeding and slightly loosing color. Now im sure (after some research i know i know should have done that first)its the silicone leaching into the water. Well the mold resistant part of it. I need expert advice. Can i just seal over with aquarium silicone or do i need to take it out and completly redo all the silicone? Thanks for the help!

travisw30
03/10/2011, 04:03 PM
Oh and how long should i let it setup before i pt it back inline?

gods child
03/10/2011, 07:07 PM
you realy cant use GE II it has antibacterils in it the onely one you should use is GE I an doesnt bond as well as GE I

1st timer
03/10/2011, 08:59 PM
take it offline yesterday.... re do it with correct silicone. i would wait a week to let cure fully. In meantime you could put a rubbermaid tote in for temp sump.
I think a few water changes would be in order as well.

travisw30
03/13/2011, 09:51 AM
Yeah i took it off immediately when i noticed my sps dulling in color. Ive learned the hard way that you need to listen to your corals, they tell you like it is unlike some test kits. I have a 20g sump that i just put under for the time being. So i got the all glass aqurium silicone and redid it now im waiting. Its been 48hrs. What should i do now? Run water and vineger in it just water, ect....?

Oildalemonkey
03/13/2011, 11:26 AM
Hey Travis, did you remove ALL the old silicone first? If you did, I wouldn't imagine anything being leftover from the GE II remainimg to cause anymore problems; but to be sure, a vinegar bath couldn't hurt.

travisw30
03/14/2011, 10:43 PM