View Full Version : I want/need a canopy

Netofficer3710
04/01/2011, 12:36 AM
http://i864.photobucket.com/albums/ab202/Netofficer3710/fish/DSC01485.jpg
here is my tank

I would like a canopy to prevent
A) jumpers
B) light from spilling out the sides so my lights are kinder to my eyes

would I be able to get a canopy or have one made without much hassle that will not require a new light fixture and will allow me to have things hanging on the back of the tank?

I am new to this so I have no idea how they work

Scott B
04/01/2011, 07:52 AM
It will not stop any jumpers, but will def. help with the light problem. And yes, you can have one made easy enough. it will just need to be set on a ledge or screwed to the top of your canopy.

Chris27
04/01/2011, 07:56 AM
What size tank is it? If it's anything under a 210, there are a number of pre-made ones from the different manufacturers. Or if you have some tools, you can build one yourself and save a great deal of money.

Sk8r
04/01/2011, 08:32 AM
Do this: a black laminate 'skin' 9" wide, cornered on the inside with soft-cheap pine 1x1, cut the width of that rim shorter than the rim itself, and with a picture-frame rim type rim around the top edge. Fits like a glove, supports your light kit by itself, and is completely open on top. Here's mine: that whole thick top is fake, and completely open.
http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f269/Sk8r10/januarytomove589.jpg

mcoomer
04/01/2011, 08:52 AM
If I were you, I'd get down to Home Depot (or pick your favorite) and buy the materials to build a screen. There's plenty of threads on here about how to build one so just hit the search button and allow the knowledge to flow in.