PDA

View Full Version : Filtration Question Adding a hang on back refugium worth it?

1dbancroft
04/01/2011, 11:08 AM
Hey guys, My name is Darin Im new to Reef Central!!!.....Anyways I have been running a successful 100 gallon mixed reef sumpless system for 4 years now. I run it with a good hang on back skimmer, a canister FX 5 (I have 0 Nitrate, No nitrate issues:)) which I run chemi-pure in and filter padding for mechanical filtration, 2 little fishies phosphate reactor and 3 powerheads. My question is do you think it would be beneficial to add a hang on refugium to the back of my system, or is this a waste of my money to buy one. Will it help out at all with my phophates by adding a hang on back refugium??? Or would it be more beneficial to add on a U.V. Sterilizer? Just wanting to add one of these to help reduce my algae that I get (nuisance brown algae.)

F.Y.I...... I do a 15% water change weekly and am religious on keeping on top of my water changes, esp since I don't have a sump.
Thanks guys for your time. :)

photobret
04/01/2011, 02:20 PM
I am a firm believer of refugiums and its a nice addition to your system, make sure you get the largest one you can get. UV sterilizers are being used less and less and I would definitely go the natural route.

The algae issue could be from your source water, are you using a RODI system with a TDi meter? So you have 3 powerheads but how much total flow? Also a factor to consider and finally do you have a clean up crew that may help with algae issues?

1dbancroft
04/01/2011, 10:53 PM
yeah i get my water from the l.f.s. My cousins actually own their own tropical fish store called Aqua Realm in Thousand Oaks. I know their water is R.O. treated. I have about 20 hermit crabs plus, and have about 20-30 snails, plus a lawnmower blenny, sand sift star in a 100 gallon. Do you think I should have more snails, hermits?

stevie-o
04/01/2011, 11:03 PM