PDA

View Full Version : New Fish from LFS has canker sore type white spots taking his body over

Essense
04/02/2011, 08:45 AM
This is a new Black Clown Goby, named Moe. I noticed a white spot on him at the LFS and should have had a better judgement, but the shop looked at him after I pointed it out they said it was stress related. After asking if they should keep him for awhile to ensure he's okay they said, "No, notally not neccesary, he'll be fine". It is a very highly regarding LFS in my area and I didn't argue. I'm new to the hobby and have read a thosand times on these boards not to do what I did. Grrr. but moving on.

The white spot, now spots, is larger than ich and not raised on the body of the fish. It looks more like an open sore. The fish does not appear to be in discomfort, he swims freely and is not at the surface or bottom of the tank. He likes to hang on the back wall and chill in the crevices of my LR. I have not seen him eat in the past 3 days. I feed H20 Life Spirulina and Cyclop-eeze, he doesn't touch either. He also appears to have lost some of his deep black color, though this appears like it may be normal behavior for these guys after having the lights off for the night. They appear darker during the day while swimming around.

My water params are good. Amonia 0, Nitrite <.1 ( I noticed a slight raise here after adding 3 fish), Nitrates 25, PH 8.1, SG 1.025, temp 81F.

I'm doing a 20-25% PWC to help lower Nitrates and reduce any stress they may cause on they Goby.

The pictures should be better, but I can't get a good shot at the moment. I hope they at least help translate some of what I'm seeing here and can help with an ID based on my description above.

The pictures dont show it but the spots are getting bad, multiple and large and taking up over 10% of one side of Moe's body. I'd like to know if I should remove him right away to a hospital tank and/or if this is likely something fungal.