PDA

View Full Version : Canister filter on QT?


Tabasco
04/02/2011, 03:29 PM
Is this a good idea? I have a spare canister filter in good shape on hand and would love to use that for my QT as opposed to buying a HOB. It is a Fluval 305 and the QT would be 10g. :) I know that is alot for a 10. I also have a 20 that I could use as a QT, but didn't want to deal with that much water every time I set up QT.

Any feedback appreciated! Thanks!

aufo8mycat
04/02/2011, 03:33 PM
Is this a good idea? I have a spare canister filter in good shape on hand and would love to use that for my QT as opposed to buying a HOB. It is a Fluval 305 and the QT would be 10g. :) I know that is alot for a 10. I also have a 20 that I could use as a QT, but didn't want to deal with that much water every time I set up QT.

Any feedback appreciated! Thanks!
I would use the 20, and just get a sponge filter, that can be left in your sump when not in use to keep it active, the problem with smaller qt is the smallest bit of uneaten food can cause a fatal spike

IMO the best general quarantine process, and reasons for it, has been outlined by Lee Birch.
Please read this:

QT (http://www.reeffrontiers.com/forums/f15/quarantine-process-27022)

Tabasco
04/02/2011, 03:36 PM
If I use medication won't that kill the bacteria in the sponge and then basically be useless?

reefermad619
04/02/2011, 03:57 PM
I have had great success with qt/hospital tanks with just a heater, power head, and frequent water changes.

RegalAngel
04/03/2011, 09:38 AM
I have a 40g QT and use a Ocean Clear canister....works great!

http://www.smugmug.com/photos/588960280_zJZ2W-M.jpg