PDA

View Full Version : Staghorn Acropora Care?

natalunga717
04/06/2011, 10:20 PM
Hey Guys,
I am very new to this hobby in spite of my persistent research for several months now. I've been given a staghorn acropora coral piece because it's in poor shape and thankfully I have a very strong light system for it. But beside the lights, I would like to know what else I can do for it to really make it comfortable to flourish. From the readings I have found I know they need good water flow, must be kept at a safe distance from other corals, and filter feed on phytoplankton. I also learned that they are endangered, which makes me all the more determined to save this coral! Thanks.

ousnakebyte
04/07/2011, 07:25 AM
Can I clarify...? You have been given a piece of Staghorn Coral - Acropora cervicornis - that is endemic to the Caribbean/tropical western Atlantic?

Is this a troll post?

Mike

acrohead500ppm
04/07/2011, 07:37 AM
is it rust- brown in color with whitish tipped coralites? post a pic !

you are fairly lucky if it really is A. cervicornis- both A. palmata and A. cervicornis have been my holy grail.

My guess is either your trolling, or you just have a piece of indo- pacific staghorn -formosa, prostrata, micropathalma etc etc

natalunga717
04/07/2011, 08:49 AM
Please bear with me. I'm a fresh beginner. I'm not sure what you mean by trolling. I have a feeling I posted this is the wrong section now. I was first told that this was called a Honapora, but a very experienced stony coral aquarist insisted that it was a staghorn. I started reading about them online and it does look like mine. Unfortunately, any cameras I have right now are poor quality but I will post a pic anyway. Please note that this pic doesn't do any justice to it's vibrant neon green colors. http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c329/Natalunga717/2011-04-07103838.jpg