PDA

View Full Version : Identifying Ich, Help Requested

mess7777
04/10/2011, 08:02 AM
Hi All,

I am a green newbie who made a dumb mistake. I thought I was too good for quarantine, it appears I am not. Now my sailfin is showing signs of ich. I read on here a lot and saw the available treatments, and the only one that I will truly feel good with is hyposalinity. I don't have many corals so I have thought about removing them from the display tank to just treat the whole tank with hyposalinity....but I do have a brittle star and 50+ hermit crabs that would be impossible to get out. I am also worried about losing beneficial creatures from the live rock(see paragraph below on potential pod activity).

My LFS gave me anti parasite food, and because I really really didn't want to quarantine so I willing to give it a go. I tried it. 3 days later, and there is no improvement, not that I really expected it deep down.

Anyway, the interesting thing is that earlier this week I had little white specks all over the tank glass(and after cleaning they come back quick). I was initially happy as my reading leads me to believe they are pods which are a good thing to have in a healthy tank. However, the glass also had some algae spots so I scraped it. It was within minutes of this scrape that I noticed the first appearance of 3 white spots on my sailfin, ironically close to the same size as the specks on the glass. I haven't found any reading that indicates stages of ich are visible other than when it is on the fish. The specks are very small, I can't really see if they have legs, antennae, etc. The shape would be similar to a grain of salt, much like the shape of the ich cysts. Coupling that with the appearance right after the cleaning makes me wonder if I have an all out insane outbreak going on. So, either this is all a conincidence......or......