PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Question #40

MHG
04/12/2011, 06:28 AM
I hear people say to they do their water changes from the sump. Syphoning out ditrius from the bottom. I am no rocket scientist but how does one syphen water out of a sump that is sitting on the bottom of a stand (basically 2 inches off the floor)?

Forfend
04/12/2011, 06:31 AM
One could attach a pump inside of the sump. Doing things at the sump is easier as you do not directly disturb the DT.

greech
04/12/2011, 06:33 AM
Not a stupid question at all. There are lots of threads on this subject.

Some use shop vacs and some use a small pump like a maxijet with some tubing. I just cleaned out my sump this weekend and I am actaully able to start a siphon manually and renove most of the water (just have to be quick :)). Once the water gets too low, I take the rest of the water out with a small plastic pitcher and soak the last bits up with paper towels.

I do most of my WCs in the diaply though as I blow off my rocks with a pump and I want to suck all that crud out of the display. I probably clean my sump every 2 to 3 months and I just don't mess with the DT when I do WCs through the sump.

bnumair
04/12/2011, 07:13 AM
to me its easier to change water from DT. i can drop 25% water out of DT without exposing anything to air. I do clean out my sump every 3 months or so with a shop vac.

jeff@zina.com
04/12/2011, 08:55 AM
I am no rocket scientist but how does one syphen water out of a sump that is sitting on the bottom of a stand (basically 2 inches off the floor)?
Floor drains! :)

Easiest is the wet/dry vac. Suck 10 gallons out and dump it in a regular sink/tub/toilet/mean neighbor's yard at night/etc.

By the way, this is only stupid question #39. Stupid questions 7 and 13 got combined into one.

Jeff

acrohead500ppm
04/12/2011, 08:57 AM
keep a circulation pump (cheap crappy koralia/ maxi mod) in your sump to keep detritus in suspension so you don't have to worry about it !