PDA

View Full Version : Do I need 2 vortechs or can I get by with just one/


banzai75x
04/14/2011, 04:08 PM
I have a 48x24x20 tank. Planning on keeping softies and LPS. Can I get by with just one Vortech Mp40?

Saltwatercoral2
04/14/2011, 04:17 PM
1 will work, 2 is definitely better, but you can always just use a korallia or something like that on the other side of the tank, till you save up for another

cjilge
04/14/2011, 07:14 PM
I run 1 mp40 on my 150 72x30x18. wish I had two. It is unbelievable how much water movement it creates but you can tell the other side gets some build up on the sand. I added a koralia temp till i can afford another vortech. 4ft is about wher you see the water really slow down. placment may allow you to get away with 1.

NYCBOB
04/14/2011, 08:08 PM
2 mp40. 1 mp40 isnt enough.

t4zalews
04/14/2011, 08:15 PM
I had 1 and was happy, then I got another one... def worth getting another one.

batt600
04/14/2011, 09:54 PM
Just get 1 mp60 and call it a day

Remn
04/14/2011, 10:29 PM
Its only softies and LPS, one should be enough

karsseboom
04/14/2011, 11:46 PM
For that tank i would say get 2.

djkms
04/15/2011, 12:03 AM
Its only softies and LPS, one should be enough

+1

Sent from my Droid Incredible.

BCT182
04/15/2011, 12:29 AM
Its only softies and LPS, one should be enough

Eventually you'll want 2. Softies tend to grow pretty quickly and will block flow creating dead spots. That's about where I'm at now. I'm mostly LPS and softies and after two years I'm looking to double my flow.

JayM
04/15/2011, 12:33 AM
once you have 2, you'll be glad you did. your wallet won't like it, but your tank will :)

banzai75x
04/15/2011, 09:10 AM
Thanks for the advice guys. I think I might go with one for now, and supplement with a Koralia. Then when I can afford the 2nd I'll jump in with another one.

tqpolo
04/15/2011, 11:34 AM
LPS and softies are happier with medium flow so one should be fine.

stingythingy45
04/15/2011, 11:58 AM
Thanks for the advice guys. I think I might go with one for now, and supplement with a Koralia. Then when I can afford the 2nd I'll jump in with another one.


Good call.Two would be way overkill for a softie/LPS tank.

tkeracer619
04/15/2011, 08:27 PM
Go for one. I doubt you will need the koralia.

When you can go for the second and just turn them down.