PDA

View Full Version : the What would it take to open a fish store discussion thread

hail_sniper
04/29/2011, 12:34 PM
This is a dream of mine to one day open a dedicated fish store with the utmost service and great prices.

so for the sake of hypothetical fun.

what would it take to open a store, factoring in the initial investment and upkeep of the store. setting up the equipment systems, creating contacts with vendors. etc.

Doe's anyone know the fine details of what it'd actually take? because one day far from now, i plan on doing this.

Polahbear
04/29/2011, 12:40 PM
I'm not an expert but the advice I got was work at one first and you can get a glimpse of all the stuff that goes on in the background, and get answers from people that have already gone through the setup. Of course some owners might not want to help a future competitor.

hooterhead
04/29/2011, 01:20 PM
It'll take more than you ever want to give. Whatever number you have in your head to start it up, triple that. It always costs more than people think. Say goodbye to weekends and days off. Say goodbye to your love of the hobby. Ive been working in stores/wholesale facilities for the better part of 10 years. I used to have 36 aquariums. Now, I have none.

Don't wanna burst your bubble but this is the unfortunate truth. Working in a store was awesome for the first year or so. After that, you can only take hearing "How hard is it to keep a sw tank?" so many times...

If you want to shoot me a pm, I'd be glad to help fill in some of the gaps for you.

snorvich
04/29/2011, 02:14 PM
It'll take more than you ever want to give. Whatever number you have in your head to start it up, triple that. It always costs more than people think. Say goodbye to weekends and days off. Say goodbye to your love of the hobby. Ive been working in stores/wholesale facilities for the better part of 10 years. I used to have 36 aquariums. Now, I have none.